

# Notice of the Swearing in of the Mayor for Kaipara District Council following the Mayoral By-election 2018

Date: Friday 23 February 2018

Time: 9.00 am

Venue:Conference Room, Northern Wairoa War Memorial Hall (DargavilleTown Hall) — 37 Hokianga Road, Dargaville

# **Open Agenda**

Membership	
Chair:	Mayor Jason Smith
Members:	Deputy Mayor Peter Wethey
	Councillor Anna Curnow
	Councillor Victoria del la Varis-Woodcock
	Councillor Julie Geange
	Councillor Libby Jones
	Councillor Karen Joyce-Paki
	Councillor Jonathan Larsen
	Councillor Andrew Wade

Shelley Paniora Executive Assistant 09 439 3123 spaniora@kaipara.govt.nz

## Contents

		Page
1	Opening	1
1.1	Mihi	1
1.2	Council Waiata	1
1.3	Present	1
1.4	Apologies	1
2	Declaration of Results of Mayoral By-election 2018	
2.1	Declaration of result in the Public Notices Section of the Northern Advocate, 21 February 2018	2
3	Statutory Declaration by Mayor-Elect to Chief Executive	3
	Closure	3



kaipara te Oranganui · Two Oceans Two Harbours

# The First Meeting of Kaipara District Council following the Mayoral By-election 2018 called pursuant to s 120 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 Friday 23 February 2018

## 1 Opening

- 1.1 Mihi
- 1.2 Council Waiata
- 1.3 Present
- 1.4 Apologies

#### 2 Declaration of Results of Mayoral By-election 2018

#### Declaration of result by Deputy Mayor

The Electoral Officer has declared the results of the 2018 Mayoral By-election for Kaipara district.

2.1 Declaration of result in the Public Notices Section of the Northern Advocate,21 February 2018



# DECLARATION OF RESULT MAYORAL BY-ELECTION

I declare the result of the by-election held on 17 February 2018 for the position of Mayor of the Kaipara District Council to be as follows :

Candidate:	Votes Received:
SMITH, Jason	elected
WETHEY, Peter (Independent)	excluded
ROGAN, Bruce	excluded
MCEWING, Brian	excluded
SOOLE, Stephen (Independent)	excluded
WOOLLAM, Craig	excluded
TANE, Jay Ben	excluded
SIMON, Christian	excluded
(11 informal votes and 6 blank votes)	

I therefore declare Jason SMITH elected.

The final quota as determined at the last iteration was 2,874.

Full details of the official results of the election are available on request from the Electoral Officer.

Dated at Dargaville, 21 February 2018

Dale Ofsoske, **Electoral Officer** Independent Election Services Ltd *for* <u>Kaipara District Council</u>

# phone 0800 922 822

# **3** Statutory Declaration by Mayor-Elect to Chief Executive

# Acting Chief Executive 1301.01/2018E Declaration by Mayor-Elect

The Acting Chief Executive as Principal Administrative Officer pursuant to clause 14 of schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002 will swear in the Mayor-Elect by calling upon him to make and attest a statutory declaration.

After being sworn in by the Acting Chief Executive, the Mayor assumes the Chair.

### Recommended

That Kaipara District Council receives the declaration of the results of the Kaipara District Council Mayoral By-election 2018, as notified by public notice on 21 February 2018.

### Closure

Kaipara District Council Dargaville